Jon Paul

Uncertain of the best visa for fiance

14 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am a US permanent resident becoming a US citizen in January (I had my interview a month ago and I am waiting to take my oath). However, I have a question about getting my British fiance permanent residency in the US.

My fiance is living with me here in the US. She came here on a graduate student visa, but dropped out of school this semester. Because her student visa expires soon (she has to leave the country in January), we aren't sure which route to take. Would it be better for her to come back to the US on a K-1 Visa and get married and start the process towards permanent residency? Or would it make more for her to come back to the US on a visa waiver, get married, then apply for a IR1 (with a simultaneous K-3)? We would like to minimize our time apart, and we would like the process to be over as quickly as possible.

Any advice would be very welcome! We are swamped in all of the acronyms and flowcharts!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

http://www.visajourney.com/content/compare

See the comparason guide

FYI, she is already out of status I believe. Once she dropped out the school reported it and she is no longer in status. She needs to fulfill the requirements of the student visa which is to be a student. It doesn't matter that what her paper visa said

good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned
March 12, 2009 - Case Complete
25 DAY TRIP THROUGH NVC

Medical
May 4, 2009

Interview
May, 26, 2009

POE - June 20, 2009 Toronto - Atlanta, GA

Removal of Conditions
Filed - April 14, 2011
Biometrics - June 2, 2011 (early)
Approval - November 9, 2011
209 DAY TRIP TO REMOVE CONDITIONS

Citizenship

April 29, 2013 - NOA1 for petition received

September 10, 2013 Interview - decision could not be made.

April 15, 2014 APPROVED. Wait for oath ceremony