50 cool 50

US TAX - Do I PAY TAX ON FUNDS I AM BRINGING INTO THE US FROM ABROAD ?

35 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi everyone

Thanks for a wonderful forum.

my question is quite self explanatory.

I am a permanent resident in California for 3 years.

I have a green card and social security number etc.

I pay my taxes, me and my wife file jointly each year.

I have an apartment in Berlin that is in the process of being sold. i have owned it for 7 years and bought it before I came to the US.

I want to transfer $240,000 USD from Germany when the sale is complete and use the money towards a house for my family in the USA.

I have and will be paying German capitol gains tax on the money before it leaves Germany.

Will I have to pay a second US tax on this money in the USA when it arrives?

If so how much?

I spoke to my accountant who said 'no because it is money that was made before i came to the US'.

I spoke to my lawyer who said 'yes I will have to pay tax'.

If I have to pay the secondary tax then its quite off putting and i will just buy more property in germany and forget the idea.

Has anyone ever been in a similar situation?

thank you everyone for your answers and understanding

Barry

married to american with baby daughter!!

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline

It sounds like you will have the gain on the sale which would be taxable. But if you are taking that money and putting toward a new home there are exclusions.

Take a look here (or do some Googling) for some info >>> http://www.bankrate.com/finance/real-estate/capital-gains-home-sale-tax-break-a-boon-for-owners-1.aspx

I-864 Affidavit of Support FAQ -->> https://travel.state.gov/content/visas/en/immigrate/immigrant-process/documents/support/i-864-frequently-asked-questions.html

FOREIGN INCOME REPORTING & TAX FILING -->> https://www.irs.gov/publications/p54/ch01.html#en_US_2015_publink100047318