Strange

I need a little clairification here

22 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Thailand
Timeline

I am so confused about what visa to apply/petiton for. Im new at all this, so let me just tell you guys about my situation and what you think the best choice/option should be.

Im a 27 year old offshore oil worker, im from the states, and I have been living in thailand in my off time. I have been with my Thai Girlfriend for 3 years (also 27). We applied for a tourist visa recently and got denied. It was a huge dissapointment to say the least. So now we are looking at our options. The goal is for her to get a US passport and freedom to travel with me.

We are not married yet, but have been talking about it and I heard there was some difference about applying for a K-1 fieonce visa and a K-3 Spouce visa. I heard that once in the states, you have to file for adjustment of status, and that takes like 6+ months. Ideally I dont want her to have to go to the states and sit there alone for 1-2 months at a time waiting for the adjustment of status while I am at work overseas. We dont have any plans to live in the states, but, I want us to have the option.

So I guess my question is:

Should I marry in Thailand and apply for the Spouce Visa or wait and apply for the K-1. Like I said, I dont want her to have to go to the states and be alone not knowing anybody waiting for the adjustment of status.

I dont know if this is the right sub-forum, but im just about as confused as I can get. I would really appreciate a little guidance here.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline

There is no path for her to obtain a US passport that does not include obtaining a green card and residing in the US for a majority of time while a green card holder (3 years).

*At this point moving thread to General Immigration forum*

Edited by Anh map