Hurting Bad

HELP!!! In the US on fiancee visa, but petitioner backed out!!!

68 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Philippines
Timeline

This is my second post. The first one was equally sad. But I guess this one is much better, at least something has been decided upon. My petitioner backed out from our wedding. I just got here on Nov. 24. He doesn't have problems with me but he realized that he is not ready to give up his single life. But that is no longer my problem now, I should move on with my life.

My question is this: I am a nurse, and I have passed my NCLEX exam in California. The board of nursing told me that I need an SSN first before I could get my license in California. I learned that as a K1 visa holder, I am eligible to get my SSN 10 days upon my arrival. Can I get my SSN anywhere in the US(ex., California) even if my petitioner is in Indiana? Do I need to have my petitioner with me when I apply for an SSN?

My next question: I have a brother in SFO and he'd like me to go there and visit to help with my heartbreak. At the same time, his wife told me that that I can look for a job there, but not illegally -- I can look for an employer who will sponsor my working visa. Is this possible? Do I need to get a lawyer for this, or will the employer work on this?

Thank you for your responses. He just broke up with me today and I am trying my best to keep myself together, after leaving everything behind in the Philippines. But yes, I should start focusing on solutions, and I hope you can give me ideas.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Ireland
Timeline