APGG94

VERY tough situation - filing for siblings

55 posts in this topic

Filed: F-1 Visa Country: Grenada
Timeline

I have a big dilemma and I would really appreciate some grace amidst the blunt responses I’m already expecting. I know this situation is not at all easy and might lead to a dead end but the least I can do is try. 

I am a permanent resident, planning to apply for citizenship next year. You can check my timeline but long story short I was on a student visa and got married, then adjusted my status. Husband and I just bought our first house. 

Here’s the sticky situation: my 3 siblings were brought to the US on tourist visas by my dad and left with my grandmother. They were all under the age of 18. My grandmother put two of them into public school. She claimed that she was applying for “their papers” but refused to give anyone information about what exactly she did. Nothing came of it. At the time I was living with a friend in my home country. I moved to Texas for school but my siblings are in New York. 

It’s been 7 years and 2 of the 3 are now over the age of 18 and can’t work or go to school. They’re completely helpless and I do what I can to help them out but they depend on my grandma for everything. Up until now I really had no idea what to do to help. 

Does anyone think it would be possible for me to sponsor them? Can they adjust status after being out of status for this long? Would I be able to sponsor them from a different state?

I know I will def need a lawyer for this case but any advice would help. I’m trying to be a big sister considering our parents failed us. 

F1 (graduated) with pending AOS after marriage! ^_^

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Haiti
Timeline