emma44

2 years home requirement

12 posts in this topic

Hello!

I am not that far away from scheduling my K1 interview but I have a big concern. Here is the thing: I found out that people who traveled to the usa with a j1 (exchange student) visa were subjected to the  « two years home  » law under certain circumstances, one of them being the government (of the usa  or our own country) funding the exchange. When I look on my visa and on my DS2019, they both say that the two years rule does not apply to me. I am still worried because when I was an exchange student, I recieved a scholarship from my own country. Isn’t a scholarship considered as a government funding ? I am super confused and scared that during the interview they say that this rule apply to me since I had a scholarship... 

thank you so much for the coming answers 

You should file for an advisory opinion from the State Department as to whether you are subject to the two-year HRR. 

I believe when they say government funding, they mean US government funding. But I'm not 100% on that. 

An advisory opinion would answer that question, however. 

Widow/er AoS Guide | Have AoS questions? Read (some) answers here

AoS

Day 0 (4/23/12) Petitions mailed (I-360, I-485, I-765)
2 (4/25/12) Petitions delivered to Chicago Lockbox
11 (5/3/12) Received 3 paper NOAs
13 (5/5/12) Received biometrics appointment for 5/23
15 (5/7/12) Did an unpleasant walk-in biometrics in Fort Worth, TX
45 (6/7/12) Received email & text notification of an interview on 7/10
67 (6/29/12) EAD production ordered
77 (7/9/12) Received EAD
78 (7/10/12) Interview
100 (8/1/12) I-485 transferred to Vermont Service Centre
143 (9/13/12) Contacted DHS Ombudsman
268 (1/16/13) I-360, I-485 consolidated and transferred to Dallas
299 (2/16/13) Received second interview letter for 3/8
319 (3/8/13) Approved at interview
345 (4/3/13) I-360, I-485 formally approved; green card production ordered
353 (4/11/13) Received green card

Naturalisation