TCKB-07

This May be a Bit Complicated

69 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Timeline

Hello, 

I am a USC engaged to a Ghanaian citizen. We have filed for him to come over on a B visa, his appointment is on the 6th of Feb. The plan was for us to get married, traditionally, at my family's home and we will be moving to Ghana in May. I see, after reading through the threads, that Ghana is hard to get through. So this plan may need to be readjusted. 

Here is the complication: He is a chief and I will be his second wife. He has what they call a "stool wife." I told him that because of this, our marriage would never be valid in the US and he would never get a green card, as a result. He is fine with that, but as a retired Veteran, I am not. There are certain benefits that I would like for us to use together-namely Space A flights for free and health insurance. My questions are: 

1. Since we are having a customary wedding, which is legit in Ghana, would it be legit in the US as well? 

I ask, because his first marriage is very much an arrangement. He has to be married to be a chief...If he were to divorce at a later date, would our customary marriage be considered a marriage in the states and therefore null because he had a wife before me? Or would it not be valid under US law and therefore, we could "remarry" at a later date in a way that is recognized by the US?  

2. If we can overcome #1, would being a retiree with non-taxable income make it impossible to sponsor him on a spousal visa? And would me having lived in Ghana for years and not the US also create difficulty? 

I hope this makes sense. Thanks in advance. 

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline
7 minutes ago, TCKB-07 said:

Hello,