Lisa88

Evidence of bona-fide marriage with divorce

23 posts in this topic

How difficult is it to file for ROC by yourself? 

I got my conditional green card a few months ago based on a marriage with a US citizen. We were in a relationship for 3 years and got married. And we applied for AOS (I was a student on F1 and also working on OPT after graduating) and I got my conditional green card 1.7 years after marriage. 

So we have been together for more than 5 years. 

It's been only a few months since we finally got my conditional green card, but my US spouse cheated on me.  He said he really likes this new person, and wants to consider divorcing me. I am in depression and grief and I can't even concentrate on my work.  Our marriage was real, and we did love each other.

We are a same sex couple, where I am gay myself and he is bi. Recently, he said as we grew older, he started wanting to have a kid, not adopted one, but real one with his DNA. He never thought about having kids but growing old made him want kids. So he cheated on me with a girl. And he said he doesn't wanna go counseling with me because he cannot see the future having kids with me. 

I have all my life here, my job, my friends, my spouse (I am losing him though). I cannot even get married to my love in my own country because same sex marriage is banned. 

Is it possible to get divorced within the 2 year condition and still get the permanent residency? How hard is it? 

We have lots of proof that our marriage was entered into in good faith. 

What extra proofs do they require you if you wanna file for ROC by yourself? I read it's VERY difficult to pass all the requirements if the divorce occurs within 2 years. 

Edited by Lisa88

There is a lot of threads based on similar circumstances.