northwest-boys

When to leave your job (K1 visa application)

5 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi Everyone,

We're currently between NOA 2 and NVC stage in the K1 visa process and I was wondering, at what point is it best for the beneficiary to hand in their notice at work and leave their job before eventual Point of Entry.

I have to give at least 1 month notice at my current job. I'm stuck on what to do because obviously I want to have as much quality time with friends and family before I leave, but at the same time I don't want to jump the gun and leave too early.

I'm also having trouble finding any information on how this affects the process, does it matter if I've left my job already by the time I have my Embassy interview, no I still need to be in work until after the interview? I really don't like the idea of having to wait yet another month after the interview just because of my notice period.

I'd love to hear other people's experiences of when they finished working before POE.

Many thanks!

It is advise that no decision like this should be made before your interview. If successful at interview you will have 6 months to leave your country. The wait can be stressful, but anything can happen at the interview stage. 

It doesn’t really matter for the process itself nor does it have a time frame set to do it. It’s up to the beneficiary and their own circumstances. 

Since you’ll have 6 months from medical to enter the US, there’s time to decide.

Id stay as long as you can, so you can save more money and have a more recent job history when applying for jobs here

good luck

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: England
Timeline
1 hour ago, northwest-boys said:

Hi Everyone,

We're currently between NOA 2 and NVC stage in the K1 visa process and I was wondering, at what point is it best for the beneficiary to hand in their notice at work and leave their job before eventual Point of Entry.