Niceb

Struggling to find work

25 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Ireland
Timeline

My husband and I won the DV Lottery and landed in Philly three months ago. To date our job search has been fruitless. We both have tonnes of experience between us. I'm Irish with over 10 years experience, have worked in Australia and Brazil. I have a degree, and post grad in Marketing, speak another language, and have worked with lots of American multinational clients in the past. I've been networking like crazy but I can't even get a temp job paying $10 an hour!

My husband is Brazilian with 15 years experience, has also worked in Australia, is an Industrial Engineer with an MBA , has managed teams of over 100 people, has worked for American multinationals in Brazil and speaks three languages. My husband's actual experience would net him a salary of about $90- $100k per year, according to a recruiter, if he was American. However,being a foreigner with no local experience he is willing to work for less than half that. My husband's English is advanced but not totally fluent, so that may be holding him back. He has been going to English classes every day to try and perfect it.

We both have good LinkedIn profiles and are active on Monster, Dice, Indeed etc. My husband has had more luck with getting a few job interviews than I have (I've only had one) but neither of us have been able to secure anything. I've always done really well in job interviews in the past. The strange thing we have found is that we haven't got any feedback from interviewers. We go for the interviews and then they don't get back to us, even after trying to reach out to them via phone and email. My husband also had that on a second round interview. Is that normal practice here?