14 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Belgium
Timeline

Dear VJers,

My NOA2 finally is coming closer and with it the wedding too. I'll be so happy when I'm finally reunited with the one I love. Yet a few practical things are worrying me...

Originally my future husband told me he'd like for us to sign a prenuptial. Recently he told me he loved me so much he doesn't think this is necessary anymore. Yet I'm not so sure if this is true and I like to find that out before it is too late...

This is the situation:

I don't have any savings, he has been saving quite well.

We both own a property, mine seems to be worth more than his.

He has an ex wife that he is still paying for as well as two grown up sons.

He has a nice job. I have a nice carreer myself, but will have to give up my current job and look for something else once I move to the US. I am pretty sure with everything that I studied that I'll make a nice carreer over there too.

Because of moving I'll have to leave most of my possessions behind (except for my pet and some clothes), which is a small sacrifice that I'm happy to make for the love I get in return.

Also we are planning on selling both our properties in the next few years and buying a nice place together.

Now I'm not familiar at all with US law (or more specifically Virginia Law), but I wonder what would happen if things should not work out between us (and end up with a divorce) without having any prenuptials or agreement on paper.

But what even worries me more is what would happen if he would decrease before me. Something I don't like to think about, but which isn't unconceivable, since he is more than 10 years older than me. Would it then be possible for his sons to ask for their part and me to be forced to sell my house? Or could I be restricted to have only the beneficial interest in the possesions/property, which is a concept I wouldn't like much either.