Storm555

From K1 to L1-B - ? problems ahead?

15 posts in this topic

Filed: L-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi all

I can't find anyone who has had a simlar problem on here so here goes...! As a total newbie to this board I thank you in advance and totally appreciate your time. I live in UK, married a US citizen almost 2 years ago outside the US and filed a K1 as we were going to marry in the US as we thought it would be nice to remarry with his family there and didnt figure it would be a problem as we would be marrying each other again! Given the recession etc etc we both have jobs and have been travelling back and forth to see each other and got a couple of extensions on the application which is now at the embassy awaiting medical and affidavit of support etc. Then out of the blue my employer, who has an office in the US, offers me the chance to relocate - same job, different office. As finding work was the problem in the first place I am overjoyed, and then I realise I will have to apply for an L1B visa while I actually have a K1 in process. I realise that I have to withdraw the K1 and am in the process of doing that, but, and this is the big worry - if my employer applies for a L1B visa it will be at the same embassy who will of course have my K1 papers etc. Whilst I am going to be totally truthful about my naivety I am now panicking that they wont grant a L1B visa as I obviously have intent to change status at sometime given that my husband is in the US and I was planning on moving there. Any advice?

Filed: AOS (apr) Country: Australia
Timeline

Hi all