Sudowpa2

I-864 Evidence for Non-Taxable Income

11 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Colombia
Timeline

I am in a situation which I cannot figure out. I have tried to ask other forums, but I haven't gotten a straight answer or the question was completely ignored. I hope that I have better luck here.

I am the USC, filing for my Colombian spouse.

I am currently at the NVC stage and preparing my I-864.

My situation is that I earn non-taxable monies throughout the year from the Social Security Administrations and Veterans Affairs.

Between those two, I make way over the minimum that is needed to sponsor, household of 2. (Only me and my wife)

The monies are considered permanent for the rest of my life. I have been collecting for 11 years so far.

Between reading the I-864 itself and also the I-864 instructions. It is not very clear on what I should include as evidence.

When you have taxable monies then you submit your tax transcripts, 1040s or W-2s. Simple.

When you have non-taxable monies. There is nothing showing what clear evidence is needed.

I do have a joint sponsor setup just incase it falls through. I want to submit one I-864, first, on my own merits. I do not want the joint sponsor to sign a contract if they don't have to. If I were to get an RFE for the I-864. Then, that is when I would add the joint sponsor. As a last resort. I know that will cause a delay in my case, but that is okay. I am trying to push my case out a little.

Documents and Evidence that I will include with the I-864.

1. VA Card, Medicare Card, and Military ID Card

2. Award letters showing how much I will make per month for the year 2023, SSA and VA.

3. I also have a letter showing how much I made in the last 10 years, each year. VA also showing my wife added as a dependent.

4. DD214

5. Bank Statements of where the deposits go. I will supply one year of statements. I do have up to three years, if needed.