Agathon

Should we marry in France or in the US to eventually live together in the US?

45 posts in this topic

Hi everyone!

My boyfriend (US citizen) and I (French citizen) met in July 2018 (almost 18 months ago) while on a trip with friends. Since then, I’ve gone to see him 3 times for about a month each time, and he’s come over just once. We want to get married and live together in the US. We have a ton of questions, and it’s hard to know where to start. Here are a few of those questions:

- Where should we get married? In France or in the US? The goal is for me to move to the US, so depending on where we get married, the process won’t be the same.

- I work as a freelancer (which is why I can go see him for extended periods of time so often). I work for French clients, and when I spend time in the US, I’m not there to work (i.e. to "steal" an American citizen’s job), I’m doing the same work as if I were in France or anywhere else. Could this be an issue?

- If we decide to get married in the US and apply for a K1 Visa for me, can I still visit him under the ESTA waiver program? Mine is only valid until June 2020. If needed, can I apply for a new ESTA visa while the K1 process is still underway?

- He’s coming to visit me and meet my family in May, should we just get married in France then? Could I easily move to the US after that, and not just under the ESTA waiver program?

Sorry if this is a bit all over the place… Thank you so much for your help and input!

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

The process is exactly the same if you marry in France or the US, so whichever makes most sense for other reasons.

K1 if for fiancees not those married and would not work well with your work need.

You can visit, now working would likely get you into trouble, on the VWP.

Marry in May sounds good and then he can file for a CR1 which will lead to an immigrant visa allowing you to move to the US.

Excellent guides on here will help you understand the process.