N & Nancy

At the interview, how critical is a common language these days?

9 posts in this topic

My wife is fortunate enough to have her CR-1 interview coming up, and I plan to join her at the interview. We are both having a case of the nerves, because we want everything to go well, of course. One possible "red flag" in our case is our lack of common language. Both her English and my Spanish are VERY limited. I can mostly get through dinner with a waiter, but we use a translator a LOT together. It's really not an issue for us...and it I've been a bad Spanish student partly as a result.

I've read some comments, from pushbrk specifically, that say a language barrier is not much of an issue these days. I'm hoping that this is the case. I'm also hoping he will chime in?

We have quite a bit of face time since we got married last trip, 6 times since our wedding last year, including trips to Cancun and Columbia together. We talk everyday on WhatsApp. I've met her whole family, including her closest sister multiple times. She talks with my mother often via email. I'm hoping our other evidence will outweigh this possible issue. Any anecdotal evidence?

Edited by N & Nancy

It's not as much of a hurdle as it's been in the past, but it's still a pretty big red flag.

The amount of face time and communication is very positive, though.

Good luck!

Timelines:

ROC:

Spoiler

7/27/20: Sent forms to Dallas lockbox, 7/30/20: Received by USCIS, 8/10 NOA1 electronic notification received, 8/1/ NOA1 hard copy received

AOS:

Spoiler

AOS (I-485 + I-131 + I-765):

9/25/17: sent forms to Chicago, 9/27/17: received by USCIS, 10/4/17: NOA1 electronic notification received, 10/10/17: NOA1 hard copy received. Social Security card being issued in married name (3rd attempt!)

10/14/17: Biometrics appointment notice received, 10/25/17: Biometrics