JLR-MPA

HELP! - Unique situation

17 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Mozambique
Timeline

Good evening, VisaJourney Members. 

I'm about to submit my immigrant wife's I-751 petition to remove conditions on her permanent residency. However, we have two unique situations and I am very worried about getting an RFE or a denial. 

Here are the two things I'm worried about:

1. We are a same-sex couple. Our son was born 5 months after we married. My mother is an attorney and informed me that I could not be on the birth certificate because I am not the "biological father." So we planned for me to adopt our son later. After we settled into our new life with a baby, we looked into adoption. It was too expensive for us since I am a graduate student and my wife is a stay-at-home mother. Our son is now 2 years old and we have never been hindered by the fact that I have not yet adopted him. So the adoption still has not taken place.