iamwhatiam80

Student visa for spouse of green card holder

14 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-5 Country: India
Timeline

Hello friends,

I am a US permanent resident. I want to call my wife on a student visa because F2A has a huge backlog and I still have 2 more years to get my citizenship.

Did someone try this before? How hard or easy is it for a spouse of a permanent resident to get the student visa?

Thank you.

You can't "call your wife" but she can apply on her own merits. Generally she has to show that she has enough money to pay for school, and prove that she has ties back to her country so that she won't use a student visa to immigrate. I would think that since your plan is for her to come to the US to wait until she immigrates, that she will be denied, because student visa applicants must not have the intent to immigrate when they apply/enter the country. Good luck.

AOS for my husband
8/17/10: INTERVIEW DAY (day 123) APPROVED!!

ROC:
5/23/12: Sent out package
2/06/13: APPROVED!

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Jamaica
Timeline

Hello friends,

I am a US permanent resident. I want to call my wife on a student visa because F2A has a huge backlog and I still have 2 more years to get my citizenship.

Did someone try this before? How hard or easy is it for a spouse of a permanent resident to get the student visa?

Thank you.

I (we) are doing the sam ething for my 15 year old brother. It is not hard getting a student visa for school purpose and before you take the bad advise from some who will post ... know that the DHS/other does not hinder a student visa when there is a petition pending.. it is om travel.state.gov and cbp's website.. so go for it...!

Current cut off date F2A - Current 

Brother's Journey (F2A) - PD Dec 30, 2010

Dec 30 2010 - Notice of Action 1 (NOA1)
May 12 2011 - Notice of Action 2 (NOA2)
May 23 2011 - NVC case # Assigned
Nov 17 2011 - COA / I-864 received
Nov 18 2011 - Sent COA
Apr 30 2012 - Pay AOS fee

Oct 15 2012 - Pay IV fee