soon2batexan

How do I get a driver's license in Texas on a K-1?

14 posts in this topic

I'm hoping someone can offer some helpful info..

I'm entering the US on my K-1 (moving to Houston) December 3rd. The I-94 they'll give me at the border will state that I'm allowed to be in the country for 90 days.

Problem is, to obtain a driver's license, the TX DMV needs to see that I'm allowed to be in the country legally for at least 6 months. Now I know Canadians are allowed to visit for a period of 6 months so i'm not sure if that works in my favor. I thought I remembered hearing that Canadians can drive with their Canadian license for 6 months - year, and I'm a careful driver so it's not so much that I'm worried about getting pulled over as I'm concerned that when I DO go to apply for my license, I'll be fined or something for not getting a TX license within 90 days, as required by new residents. It's a catch 22! Now, it's possible I'll receive my work permit within the 90 day period and that should be sufficient proof, but if I don't, what's the best way to proceed?

The DMV in Conroe suggested getting an international driving permit, but I looked into those and you have to have a US license in order to get one.

Can anyone offer advice? I'm a little lost and am just trying to follow the rules. Help!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Have you checked if you can be insured to drive the car on a non-american license? Our insurance wouldn't insure a canadian licensed driver to use the car. Tho I had no issues at the DMV with just my I-94. TX rules are very different for DMV in Nebraska! all I needed was passport with valid I-94 and marriage license(for name change).

-------------------------------------------- as1cE-a0g410010MjgybHN8MDA5Njk4c3xNYXJyaWVkIGZvcg.gif

Your I-129f was approved in 5 days from your NOA1 date.

Your interview took 67 days from your I-129F NOA1 date.

AOS was approved in 2 months and 8 days without interview.