sorchaine

Will this be a problem?

17 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Brazil
Timeline

Not sure if this is the right place, but my fiancé entered the US yesterday on his K-1 in Chicago. The cbp agent he was dealing with was very rude to him making him feel embarrassed. The officer opened up the brown package and started to read everything inside. He told my fiancé that since I am still a student he should not be allowed to enter the US until I had graduated and was working. Said my co-sponser made ###### money. Read our emails to himself and then proceeded to take them around and rea them to other officers. Asked my fiancé how much my family was being paid to marry him, all sorts of rude and insulting questions. He even went to other officers trying to get my fiancé denied entry into the US. Luckily another officer told this rude one that the USCIS decides who can enter on the visa and if they issued it then he can't be denied at the POE. The officer finally filled out his I-94 reluctantly. On the back though under Record of Changes he wrote "admitted solely to marry". After filling out the date (90th day) he told my fiancé, "see this date? Not married by then we'll send you back to your country." Then laughed as he handed the passport back to him.

Will what he wrote on the I-94 be a problem? Not sure if it's a normal thing. Also will the officer be a problem come time for AOS? Is it possible that he could have written something in my fiancés file that will hurt us when we go to change his status? I told my parents about what happened and my mother was so upset that she left work early yesterday and has been working on a letter to send to our congressman about the whole incident. Not sure if it'll do any good or not, but it's really the only thing we can do at this point. And at least if we report the awful harrassment we can feel that we tried to do something I stead of just letting it go.