Bill and Tanya

5 year ban - file for waiver before i129f?

64 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Russia
Timeline

tl;dr? skip to bottom

I started this thread about a month ago and my girl and I decided to brave Mexico for a meeting. All went well, except for a bad decision we made based on bad or incomplete advice.

We had been holed up in the hotel for 4 days enjoying each other's company when we both started getting cabin fever. Being that I did not know Juarez very well, and honestly was still a little afraid of the city, I asked about safe places in Juarez to go shopping. After a brief chuckle, the hotel manager suggested that we visit the US embassy and ask about a permit to visit El Paso for the day to go shopping. As I am a computer programmer, and not an immigration or customs official, this sounded like good advice at the time - receive a one day pass to shop and stimulate the US economy... what could go wrong by asking a question?

So we drove to the US embassy and after standing in line for the better part of an hour, made it to a bullet proof window where I had to ask for someone inside that spoke English? This probably should have been my first warning, a US embassy with few staff members who spoke English. However, I asked the question, and was told that that permits to cross were given at the bridge, and I would have to ask there.

We drove back the the hotel and had dinner, as it was nearing dusk and did not want to be out in the city after dark. We made plans to go to the bridge in the morning after breakfast. Just as some added information, and so you know we were not racially profiled, both of us are white - very very white. If we were any more white, we would be clear. I am also very educated, and while not rich, I am well off... drive a new Audi, and dress well.