Lily25

AOS from a visitor's visa (through marriage)

13 posts in this topic

Hi guys,

I am new to this forum and it has been a great help to read many topics and the guidelines as well. I'd wanna share my situation and need some advice on it as i am a bit confused and need to know what's the best thing to do...

I work in tech and took time off for four weeks to visit my sister and her family in the US on b1/b2 visa as well as visit some places together in the state.. at the POE when asked I said I am gonna visit my sister's family and see some places together. The thing is that my boyfriend with who i am in a long distance relationship with lives in the US too (not in the same state as my sister lives). While I was with my sister's family my boyfriend and i figured we can see each other too while i am here. He was working and I went to see him while I am on my vacation here. I planned to visit him for the remaining time of my vacation, then return to my sister and then return home from there since my initial return ticket was Home--> Sister --> Home. We are now together in his state for a week and he says he doesn't want me to leave and be apart anymore. We wanna marry and stay together. I still have a week until my vacation is over. 

Q1: Can we now get married and do AOS?

Q2: Does b1/b2 visa have disadvantages over other non-immigrant single intent visas in terms of doing AOS?

Q3: I told the POE officer that I am gonna visit my sister's family and some places there with her. Now the circumstances have changed and I get married while i am here... wouldn't this be considered a lie from my part and be seen as a violation of my tourist visa?

Q4: Should i quit my job, then get married?

Thank you!!!

Edited by Lily25

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Taiwan
Timeline
32 minutes ago, Lily25 said:

Boyfriend is a US citizen.

Why didn't you tell CBP that you were also going to visit the boyfriend?  You traveled to his state.  Have you been in this relationship long?