LukeandMegan

DQ with RFE note! Advice please.

17 posts in this topic

This will be long so that I can get some good advice.  
I am US citizen.  I was previously married and have three kids (twins that are 20 and a 16 year old).  I stayed home much of that marriage.  I did work full time in 2017,2018,2019. I was a mental health therapist in Alabama.  Salary for those year for taxable income was 28k.  
2020 the pandemic hit and I switched careers and moved to Illinois to be back near family.  My salary increased to 47k (of course school starts in August so I only have a few months of higher pay and my taxable income is 30k for that year.  
2021 w2’s show 50k earned and 46k taxable income.  
I included a letter from my employer stating my salary is 55k for 21/22 school year but of course the higher paycheck only starts each September.  The letter also says that my next year salary will be 57k.  
I also included 6 months of pay stubs.   
I submitted all doc with that and got DQ but with RFE for insufficient income and to add joint sponsor but consular officer could make final decision.  
the min I need to make is 38k.   My current salary is 55k.  Do I need a joint sponsor or will they take all that and we will be ok without one.  Spouse is Canadian.  

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Ukraine
Timeline

1.  When did you submit the I-864?

2.  What did you put as your current income in your I-864?

3.  How many dependents do you have on your taxes? 

4.  What did you put as the household size on the I-864?

EDIT: changed to household size for I-864

Edited by SteveInBostonI130

Just now, SteveInBostonI130 said:

1.  When did you submit the I-864?

2.  What did you put as your current income in your I-864?

3.  How many dependents do you have on your taxes? 

4.  How many dependents did you put on the I-864?