ArtistKid

Can I (sponsor) work in a third country while my petitioners I-130 is awaiting? (merged)

12 posts in this topic

I want to transfer to my current companies (which I've been working at for 5 years) Canadian or European office temporarily until my spouses visa arrives. This will allow us to spend time together while we await my spouses visa. Will there be trouble in proving US domicile in this case? I am a US citizen with sizable investments in US stock brokers and cash in bank accounts, and years of taxes in the USA; but this move would mean i am working full-time for a foreign office, and not a temp contract.

Also, would I need to disclose that I transfered to a different location, and when?  We are currently awaiting our NOA2. 

17 hours ago, ArtistKid said:

I want to transfer to my current companies (which I've been working at for 5 years) Canadian or European office temporarily until my spouses visa arrives. This will allow us to spend time together while we await my spouses visa. Will there be trouble in proving US domicile in this case?

Depends.  If at the visa interview your spouse is able to show evidence that you will be relocating to the US before or at the same time as your spouse, then no need for concern regarding your domicile.  Note that the interviewing consulate matters when it comes to the domicile requirement.  For example, if your spouse will be interviewing in Canada, anything less than evidence of US-based employment or residence will probably not be convincing enough for the consul officer.

17 hours ago, ArtistKid said:

would I need to disclose that I transfered to a different location, and when?  We are currently awaiting our NOA2.

You will need to disclose your actual physical address on the I-864 form to be submitted after your petition is approved.

• 2 weeks later...

Here is my situation: