LiqN2

Foreign Spouse i360

14 posts in this topic

Hello. I am new to the forum but have been lurking here for years. My situation was 100% preventable but spouse was a great con artist. I do not want to post too many details as court proceeding are in progress but the main points are: spouse was out of status in the US, spouse got pregnant before marriage, urged me to marry her to have a family, we married quickly and privately due to the pregnancy, spouse had secretly scheduled an abortion without me knowing, then got an abortion within less than 24 hours of marriage and lied that there was a miscarriage. We argued, I refused to petition due to suspecting the scam, spouse claimed emotional abuse, then moved away (thank heavens). 

I filed for annulment based on fraud and misrepresentation. This happened over a period of 3 months. Spouse is filing i360 based on emotional abuse with statements from family members with fraudulent accusations and also talking to a counselor regularly to log the false claims, even telling them about the 'miscarriage'. Is this likely to be approved by immigration???

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: Iraq
Timeline

I'm sorry for what you experienced.

Since your wife is making a WAVA claim, I recommend that you NEVER be alone with her, so no false allegations can be made against you.

If your annulment is being granted based on fraud and misrepresentation, she might face some scrutiny during her WAVA, but it's eventually her case and not yours so you won't be able to do anything. The whole point of WAVA is to protect the victim from their abuser, hence there is no room for the abuser to make a statement.

I recommend to see the silver lining in all this - you haven't filed anything for her and won't be on the hook with an Affidavit of Support. Focus on yourself, and move on. And as I mentioned - never be alone with her.

Filed: Country: Jamaica
Timeline