MarryMe987654

Estimated Taxes

10 posts in this topic

Hello,

I have been trying to figure this out and hoping you guys can help me.

I have been married since August 2019 and my husband filed MFJ for 2019.

Employed February 2020. Got my GC in March 2020.

I am trying to figure out the taxes that I need to pay but the estimator in IRS is telling me that I won't be owing anything it calculates my husband's earning and tax info as well since we are MFJ. That doesn't seem right to me.

Re my job-- I work as a contractual QA for a Canadian software company. I get 38k CAD. No deductions or benefits taken out from my paycheck. I get paid every 15th and 30th of the month.

I received Pell Grant last week for $3k.

How do I calculate my tax payments and when and where should I make payments on it?

Thank you.

Edited by MarryMe987654

New Petition:

Apr 5,  2023: Naturalization

Apr 6, 2023: I-130 for my mother

Apr 6, 2023: NOA1

Apr 9, 2024: Approved

Apr 13, 2024: Sent to NVC

Apr 18, 2024: Received email fr NVC and paid the AOS/IV fee

It is only half of 2020, you need to file next year not now.

N400

12/06/2014: Package filed

12/31/2014: Fingerprinted

02/06/2015: In-Line for Interview

04/15/2015: Passed Interview

05/05/2015: Oath letter was sent

05/22/2015: Oath Ceremony

3 minutes ago, NancyNguyen said:

It is only half of 2020, you need to file next year not now.

True. But I thought I can make quarterly payments on it so it's not too much of a payment by next year. I also want to make sure that the $300 that I am setting aside every month is enough to cover it.

New Petition:

You need to talk to a tax advisor, because your income needs to combine with your spouse, not your income alone.

N400

12/06/2014: Package filed

12/31/2014: Fingerprinted

02/06/2015: In-Line for Interview

04/15/2015: Passed Interview

05/05/2015: Oath letter was sent

05/22/2015: Oath Ceremony

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Ecuador
Timeline