E&A11

Too many visits results in a ban?

18 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Hong Kong
Timeline

So my boyfriend is working in Hawaii. And over the past 7 months of our relationship, I have visited him 4 times.

July 2019 - 3 days

August 2019 - 4 days

December 2019 - 1 week

January 2020 - 1 week

I am a teacher so I visit whenever I have holidays (summer, Christmas and Chinese New Year holidays). 

I have a British passport so I enter on ESTA.

As I passed through immigration in January, the immigration officer told me that I am visiting too much and it could result in a ban of 5 years. 

I understand the concerns of “visiting too much” however I have been honest that I come to visit my boyfriend and I have a steady job as a teacher therefore I will be returning to my country of residence. Plus the duration of my visits are not lengthy so I didn’t not think frequent trips were much of a problem.

Could anyone shed some light on this potential ban if visiting too much? I never knew such thing existed

As long as your can provide ties to UK you might be fine but 4 visits in 6 months is uncommon. So the onus is on you to prove that you are not an immigrant.  They can keep hassling you though with visits of that close proximity.

duh

Timeline
9 minutes ago, Donald120383 said:

As long as your can provide ties to UK you might be fine but 4 visits in 6 months is uncommon. So the onus is on you to prove that you are not an immigrant.  They can keep hassling you though with visits of that close proximity.

Yeah, I completely understand it is uncommon. 

I have an unexpected two weeks off from school the following week and was potentially planning on flying back to Hawaii. That'll make it my 5th trip. So maybe I will have to give it a miss this time.