Mrijex

K1 interview without tax returns

19 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Netherlands
Timeline

Hi guys, 

I'm not that experienced in posting here but have been a lurker for a while and wanted to see if the knowledge of this community could help me figure something out. I'm the beneficiary (Dutch nationality and will also try to post this in a country specific thread if it exists), and am planning for my K1 visa interview. We received Noa2 beginning of October and I received the 'K1 pre appointment package' end of October. We've been trying to get our papers together this past month and have run into something. So we have prepared the i134 including a statement from his boss and a statement from the bank but now the checklist said 'including latest tax returns' - we've never read this before and are panicking a little. Our situation is the following:

USC lived in the Netherlands with me from August 2016 to September 2017. Then was supported by his mother until January 2018 when he found his current job. Didn't do tax returns for 2018 bc didn't make enough by April and didn't do tax returns in 2017 because he wasn't in the USA. Latest tax returns are thus from 2016 and possibly misplaced. 

My questions:

-what if I go to the interview with no tax returns? Just the i134 with letter from boss and bank

- I see we can request tax return transcripts from the IRS, what if we do this for the latest tax return and I bring that (so only 2016)?

- I know he can still file for 2018 and 2017 even though he didn't make hardly anything.. Would that help? 

I'm a little confused why they need the tax returns and don't know what to do. Open to everybody's help... 

K1 (2018)

Feb 28: petition sent

March 12: NOA1

October 10: NOA2

Feb 5 2019: Interview (approved!)

Feb 12: Passport received, visa in hand

March 12: enter US, POE; Boston

March 21st (1st day of spring🌻😞 married!

AOS (2019) 

April 12: Sent in AOS, EAD and AP

April 15: Delivered at USCIS