londongal

Tips for finding work in America?

24 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: United Kingdom
Timeline

Hi all

I was wondering if those who have been fortunate enough to find work in the US could share some tips with us who are anticipating the big move or who are already in the US and trying to find work?

For example, I currently have a good job working in Risk & Compliance for one of the big 4 accountancy firms in London. They have an office in Dallas where I will be moving to, however, I know how difficult it can be to find a job to match your qualifications and experience when you're from abroad. I have a law degree and have also been to law school in London - will this help me in any way when I get to America, or am I essentially going to be starting from scratch? (I assume my studies of UK laws and regulations might not hold any weight once I get to America) And I'm sure there are many others of us out there who have qualifications and experience that they are worried might be void once reaching the US.

So to pose the questions:

1. From your experience, are foreign qualifications and/or experience useless in America?
  2. What tips could you recommend for job hunting effectively in the US?
  3. What didn't work for you?
  4. How long did it take you to find work?

Thank you in advance.

Our Journey :goofy:

5/23/2015 - Met my love in the US of A

9/21/2015 - Sent off i-129f!

9/25/2015 - Received NOA1

10/27/2015 - Received NOA2!!!!! :dancing:

11/11/2015- Package received by NVC

11/12/2015- Got our case number

12/09/2015 - Medical

01/13/2016 - Interview & APPROVED! :) :dance:

5/17/2016 - Flight booked!!! The big move is finally here!

5/21/2016 - We got marrieddddddddd :wub:

Filing for Adjustment of Status

5/27/2016 - Applied for SSN and changed to married name - (still not received)

6/8/2016- Filed AoS (I-765, I -131, I 485)

6/13/2016 - AoS Received

6/25/2016- NoA

9/20/2016 - EAD & Advanced parole card received!