8 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello,

I live in Uruguay and I graduated from college in Dec 2013 (Computer Science degree). I've had the idea of living in the USA for quite some time, and now I'm facing the problem of finding out what is the best way to obtain a resident card. I think there are at least 3 ways in which I could try to get one. Next I'll describe what I thought, I hope you can provide more information based on your experience!

1. Student Visa

I'm applying to study a master at the end of this year (2015). If I get accepted and I get my student visa I think it will be possible for me to apply for a resident card later on while living there.

Is it possible to apply for a resident card being a student or should I work for some years before?

How difficult is it to be approved and how much time should pass before I can apply for one?

2. Family-Sponsored Visa (FB4 + FB1)

I have relatives (1 uncle from Uruguay, 1 aunt from Uruguay, and 3 American cousins) that have been living there for 20 years. I suppose that my father can apply for a visa (FB4) and then I can apply for one too (FB1). That would allow me to travel to the US and get a resident card immediately, but I think the process is slow and it could easily take 10 years (based on the last prediction bulletin).

Would wait this long give me any advantages?

Should I start that process as soon as possible?

3. Diversity Lottery

I just learnt that the US gives away 50,000 green cards a year! Sadly, the deadline to apply for DV-2016 has already passed (Nov 2014) and I read that it could have been the last lottery of its kind.

To be honest I think I have more chances to get a diversity visa if the new merit-based system is accepted, but it seems it'll not be available until 2017 if this ever happens.

Do you know if there will be a DV-2017 lottery (ie, a lottery this year, 2015)?

Is there any problem if I apply to DV-2017 and I travel to the USA using a student visa?

---