dhman2006

Thoroughly confused. Need some advice/ Suggestion

26 posts in this topic

I'm new to this type of immigration related thing. So I'd really appreciate if someone can give me some direction / suggestion regarding my situation. So here's my story:

I recently got engaged overseas (Bangladesh), but we won't get married til February of 2017 as my fiance won't finish her med school til then. As soon as she's done we want to start living together by bringing her here. From what I understand the best options are R-1, K3, and K1.

Now, I've never heard a Bangladeshi couple filing for K-1 and not sure what the usual success rate is for a K-1 visa. I have read online that K-1 is a little "riskier" than conventional R-1 or K-3 visas. What is the validity of that information?

From what I've read K-1 is usually the fastest taking somewhere between 6-10 months, R-1/ K-3 take somewhere between 12-18 months. Now, my questions are:

1) How risky is K1? Should I be moving forward with a K1 visa application if we don't want to get married for 2 more years?

2) If K1 is indeed riskier than K3 or R1, should we get married by December of this year? So basically we forget about K1 and move forward with R1/K3.

So basically all I want is bring her here as soon as she's done with school in February of 2017 and I am wondering given my situation what the best option would be?

~~moved from K1 process and procedures to what visa do I need as OP is debating visa paths~~

There is no R-1 visa. It is an IR1 or a CR1 depending on the length of marriage when the beneficiary enters the USA (referred to as POE.)

Don't do a K1 visa until you plan to be married. So file it in about a year because they traditionally only take 6-10 months from start to finish (filing the petition to visa.) You need to be married with 90 days of the beneficiary entering the USA but they normally have 6 months from the medical date in which to enter the USA.