ElectricBlue30

Which Visa: For U.S. Citizen living abroad w/ wife + 2 step children & 1 on the way

14 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Australia
Timeline

Hi everyone,

I'm an American Citizen who has been living in Australia for the past 3 years... in fact, I was recently granted residency by the Australian Government.

However, my family and I are considering bringing everyone back to the states.

My wife and I actually got married in Las Vegas (no, not an "Elvis" drive-thru wedding, lol, it was classy!). I now have two step children (her kids from a previous marriage), and we have a baby on the way.

Can anyone recommend what Visa we need to look into to bring our family back to the states, and specifically California?

Below are a summary of the details that would probably be relevant for choosing the Visa, as well as a few questions I have about the process...

• * I am a U.S Citizen
  • * I am also an Australian resident
  • * I've been living in Australia since 2011
  • * My wife and I got married in Las Vegas in 2013
  • * I have 2 step children (her kids from a previous marriage)
  • * We have 1 child of our own on the way (due in March)
  • * We currently live IN Australia
  • * Most of our income is in my wife’s name (we run a business in Australia and due to it taking time to get residency I couldn't have my name on the papers essentially)

My questions:

1. * What is the best visa option for us? Are there multiple ones we should compare or is it pretty clear which we need?
  2. * Does having lived in Australia the past 3 years have any negative impact on our ability to get a visa?
  3. * Does having two step children and a baby on the way have any negative or positive impact on us?
  4. * What kind of fees are we looking at for my wife and kids to be able to get a visa to live in America?
  5. * What is the timeline we’d be looking at for getting the visas granted?