Neel & Pragya

From being a lawyer to ???

16 posts in this topic

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: India
Timeline

So, from what I have been researching, it looks like I'm reaching a country at its most inopportune time!

I'm 27, lawyer by profession having completed my studies from one of the top law schools in India and a 4 year work experience with an Indian MNC. Now in a month moving to the US on a green card (fortunately!) and will be reunited with my husband :) While, I have not started applying yet, my confusion is building up thinking about the innumerable possibilities which lie ahead and roadblocks along the way! If I wish to continue working as a lawyer I am required to atleast have an american qualification which comes as an exorbitant cost. However, looking at the number of unemployed lawyers in the US right now, getting into a law school again does not seem like a prudent decision.

I am absolutely ok with looking at alternate careers but not sure where should I start from since I am not exactly trained otherwise...

Any advice, suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Canada
Timeline

Do what you love, isn't that the old saying?

No one here can tell you what you'd be good at or what's the best choice for you. Only you can figure that out yourself

but yes, no matter what job you want, it is REALLY tough here economically

Good luck

USCIS
August 12, 2008 - petition sent
August 16, 2008 - NOA-1
February 10, 2009 - NOA-2
178 DAYS FROM NOA-1

NVC
February 13, 2009 - NVC case number assigned
March 12, 2009 - Case Complete
25 DAY TRIP THROUGH NVC

Medical
May 4, 2009

Interview
May, 26, 2009

POE - June 20, 2009 Toronto - Atlanta, GA

Removal of Conditions
Filed - April 14, 2011
Biometrics - June 2, 2011 (early)
Approval - November 9, 2011
209 DAY TRIP TO REMOVE CONDITIONS

Citizenship

April 29, 2013 - NOA1 for petition received

September 10, 2013 Interview - decision could not be made.