KittyPollitt

Combating the "yo mama don't live here" issue

112 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Morocco
Timeline

I want to start by saying that I adore my husband, and for the most part, our relationship is great. It gets rocky, however, when it comes to the house work. Some of ya'll don't know about me, so I'll fill you in. I'm an independent contractor courier. Because of this, I was able to take a year off last year and have a baby, then go live with my fiance in Morocco for 6 months while waiting for his interview. When returning from Morocco last year, my mother had offered us a bedroom to crash in until we could adjust his status and save for an apartment. At the last minute, she pulled out and we had to use the money we'd saved for AOS for a security deposit on an apartment. Not having the money for AOS right away hasn't been an issue, because we have a toddler, and my husband stays home to take care of her. Now, I work 2 jobs, 60 hours, 6 days a week. I keep my family comfortable this way- he's got his playstation, his satellite tv, his internetz, and my daughter has toys and books all over the place. Therein lies the problem. They're ALL OVER THE PLACE. He sits at home and plays all damn day, pausing to feed himself and our daughter, and does little else. God help me, I try to keep up by at least keeping the kitchen and bathroom clean enough to pass a health inspection, but my jobs are physically and mentally stressful, and I come home tired, man.

I don't know how else to reason with him. I've taken the computer to work with me, he sits and watches TV all day and guilt trips me that he can't talk to his family when I do that. It's like having a damned teenager.

I'm not saying that he's not appreciative of me- our daughter is a very happy kid, well fed, and he's teaching her Arabic, which is awesome, and he's a fantastic snuggler and stress reliever, which is equally awesome. I just feel like he needs to pull some more weight around here.