eillora

Question/s about AOS

19 posts in this topic

Filed: Timeline

Hello everyone. Newbie here at VJ forums. :)

A little background first. I am recently engaged and is to be married here in the Philippines to a US citizen. We were discussing future plans of settling in the USA and I stumbled upon this website to guide me through the process. My fiancee has not ever filed any Federal Income Tax Returns. He is currently renting a place and getting Supplemental Security Income (SSI) as his only source of living along with his Health Insurance and Food Stamps. He earned his SSI by means of filing disability. He is currently receiving a little over 700 USD every month, and recently has filed for Housing Support as well, but has not been approved yet.

Having said that all of his source of living is under Means-Tested Public Benefits;

Here are my questions:

1. Will our only option be is to have a joint sponsor? Does the joint sponsor have to be a relative? What would be the requirements for one to be able to be a joint sponsor?

2. The form that the joint sponsor would fill up is I-864 and not I-864A, correct?

3. How will my fiancee present his sponsorship/AOS when he has not filed any Federal Income Tax Returns?

Thank you very much.

Hello everyone. Newbie here at VJ forums. :)

A little background first. I am recently engaged and is to be married here in the Philippines to a US citizen. We were discussing future plans of settling in the USA and I stumbled upon this website to guide me through the process. My fiancee has not ever filed any Federal Income Tax Returns. He is currently renting a place and getting Supplemental Security Income (SSI) as his only source of living along with his Health Insurance and Food Stamps. He earned his SSI by means of filing disability. He is currently receiving a little over 700 USD every month, and recently has filed for Housing Support as well, but has not been approved yet.