teddy000

DO you own a house in America?

37 posts in this topic

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Hello all,

A quick question for all you VJers here. Do you and your foreign spouse own a house or plan on buying one? Please comment. Thanks.

We own our house. We bought this house 3 months after we got married in 2007.

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Italy
Timeline

We just got some very bad news as it pertains to buying our home.... My husband and I have been married for nearly 7 years and we own an apartment in Italy. We have 20% down (and more if needed), I have excellent credit and my husband makes good money and has been at his current job for 7 months and his previous job for 14 years and I am a Veteran.

My husband received his Green Card and SS# in November... So we went to apply for a mortgage and start shopping and we got turned down by everyone for a mortgage... Reason, my husband does not have a credit history! He also does not have 3 years of tax returns or w2's (as he was not a LPR)!!! I am so very dissappointed!!! We saved up for a really big down payment, but they said it did not matter. We wanted to qualify as I have the credit and my husband makes more $$ than I do...

He has had a checking account, we opened up a secured credit card (they would not give him a regular one)... But we are back to square 1 and trying to establish credit for him... So I found a credit union that offers what is called a "credit builder loan" where they give a loan, it is put in a savings account and he makes monthly payment plus the 3% interest to start to build his credit. We will also apply for a few more credit cards...