snowball

I want to come home!!

21 posts in this topic

Filed: Country: Pakistan
Timeline

Ok, I am new to this so please do tell me if I have made a mistake in posting this in the wrong place or what not. I was researching everything on my own and came across this forum.

Anyway, this is my situation; My husband was deported from the US in October 2005. He was in the US on a student visa and violated his visa by working, he went through a court case and the verdict was that he would be given voluntary departure, and had to leave within 120 days. He did not leave and stayed in the the states for more than a year over the allotted 120 days given, then he was picked up at our home by INS in July 2005. He was detained in various facilities before he was actually deported because he had to wait for his flight. We were already married at the time, we were married on May 3rd 2004.

He was deported back to Pakistan (his home country) and I came over here to be with him. Now we have a child and have been here in Pakistan together for 4 years and three months. We cannot afford a lawyer, but the situation over here has escalated and I feel that me and my husband and son are no longer safe living here. There are bombings and threats everyday.

I am an American citizen by birth, I understand that the first step is filing the 1-212 and I-601, can anyone tell me what else I can do? I do not have any documents of his Where can I find his files, I know I have to file a FOIA, but where do I file for his deportation and court case stuff? How long does the I-212 and 601 process take? How often are the declined (I cannot afford to take chances and it be declined). What are the next steps after filing I-212 and 601 if they are accepted, and what are the steps if they are declined?

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Vietnam
Timeline