22 posts in this topic

Hi everyone, new on here and have some questions... I recently submitted my I130 for my wife (I'm a US Citizen and resident of mexico, she's Mexican) and we were approved in Mexico City on June 29, including a request for expedition due to job transfer.

We received the I130 submission notice through email but have yet to receive it via snail mail... after reading all these forums, it seems like the best thing to do is call the Visa processing center in Ciudad Juarez until we receive a case number. HOWEVER, no one picks up any phones! I must have tried ten different numbers, trying all the dial pad options, but it's always automated or an operator transfers me to a dead line.

Anyone in the same position?? This process is so stressful...

Just to give you another data point: we submitted our i130 to the embassy in Mexico City on June 24, received NOA1 via email on June 27, and received NOA2 (approval) on July 6. We haven't receive either of these notifications via snail mail. On July 17 we received the snail mail letter from the consulate with our case number (no email this time). The letter stated that the case number had been assigned on July 12.

One thing that may help is to check the mailing address you listed. I am a US citizen living in Mexico, petitioning my wife. I used our physical address for both her mailing and physical address, but I used my US address for my mailing address out of habit. NOA2 said that they would mail the embassy letter to the petitioner's address but they ended up mailing it to my mailing address in the States. Did you by chance specify a different address?

DCF Mexico

06/04/2017: Married

06/24/2017: Mailed I-130

06/27/2017: NOA1 (technically a RFE as we were missing beneficiary ID)

07/06/2017: NOA2

07/12/2017: Case assigned by Juarez embassy

07/17/2017: Packet 3 received

08/15/2017: Interview/Approval!

08/22/2017: Visa received via DHL

09/03/2017: POE

09/16/2017: Permanent Resident Card received