Naey

Best Option for a Complicated Situation?

22 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Germany
Timeline

Hi there, 

Total newbie here! I've been lurking the past few days and reading up on the guides here as well as elsewhere on the internet. My situation is a little complicated and I'm looking for advice on the best path forward for my boyfriend and myself.

A bit of a background on us: We met over two years ago when I was living in Cologne, Germany. I was teaching English and attending a Master's program I wasn't entirely happy with, so I switched to a program in Amsterdam, where I'm currently based. My boyfriend, however, stayed in Cologne for work and we have seen each other regularly ever since given the trip is only three hours by train. I'm slated to finish my Master's in a couple months and applied for Ph.D. programs stateside back in the fall then, after realizing he was the one, proposed to my boyfriend in January.

I found out three days ago that I was accepted into a program in Milwaukee and am planning to head there and start the program sometime in August. We had done some preliminary research into visa options for him back in January when I proposed, but given the volatility of the Ph.D. application process, we weren't even sure going back to the States was an option for us so didn't give it a ton of thought.

We had initially thought we'd hold a ceremonial wedding in Germany in July and then fly over to the States to get married in August when we both (in a total utopia world) were going to move together to Milwaukee from my hometown near D.C. Little did we know the processing times on visas are much longer for the US than anything here in Europe.