vilamp

SSA and USCIS Issue: No updates and no timelines

9 posts in this topic

Hi everyone! Thank you for reading through! Appreciate any and all thoughts on this!

My situation is a little bizarre. I went through the AOS process at the end of my F1 and got my conditional permanent resident card on Dec 2021. I worked as a student on campus, so I already had a restricted SSN and just continued to work with it. I really should've gotten the unrestricted one earlier, but I ended up waiting till THIS May 2023.

When I went to the SSA, they told me that they were unable to verify my immigration status because my birthday was wrong in the USCIS system. I cross-checked all my documents and my green card and my birthday was accurate on everything. They told me it must be on the internal system for USCIS, and that they can't verify my status for the unrestricted SSN till USCIS updates it.

I asked if I needed to reach out to USCIS, but they said no. They told me that they would be connecting with the local USCIS field office and the process would update my birthday on the USCIS system and get the verification completed at the same time. They told me not to reach out before 6 weeks. They took my old SSN and I currently don't have my SSN card.

I reached out after 6 weeks, and they say that they cannot give me a timeline, "Both agencies are busy and understaffed and this could take any amount of time."

At the time of writing this, it's been close to 10 weeks since I applied. There's been no word from either agency. I am moving soon and will have to file an I865 and AR-11. I am worried that this will further hinder the process because my case won't be at this field office anymore (I have to apply for my i751 in late Sept). They told me to update my address with them when I move but that was about it.