Mercedeslorry

Applying for the CR1 questions

5 posts in this topic

Hi there! My husband and I got married in October 2020 and are now ready to apply for the CR1 visa.  However, I have a few questions that i'm hoping someone can help me with:

1. We have not seen each other since we got married (a little more than 2 years) due to COVID and then financial reasons and wanting to save money for the CR1 process. We are meeting this summer - I am traveling to see him in Pakistan (this will be my 3rd time visiting)

2. I was told I did not need to claim my husband on my taxes since he does not live in the U.S and does not have Social Security # or an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) - Is this an issue?

3. How can I prove that we have a bonafide marriage when we live in separate countries and have not been able to live together due to my job being here in the U.S (i'm a teacher) and him living in Pakistan?

4. We are wanting to apply fir the visa now but would it be better to apply together when i'm in Pakistan with him? Any advice is greatly appreciated. 

We have been together for 10 years now and married for 2 years. We have met in multiple countries (Qatar, Dubai, Nepal, Maldives, and Pakistan) and I have traveled to see him in Pakistan twice and will be doing so again this summer.

Also, we previously applied for the K1 visa in March of 2018. Our petition was approved, and my husband had his interview at the U.S embassy January 2019. The interview went well, and he was told that he was approved for the K1 visa. We then got put into administrative processing; which our lawyers informed us was a normal part of the process. We were more than 100 days under administrative processing, and I sent various emails to the U.S embassy to find out what was going on or if they needed anything else from us. In July of 2019, I sent an email to the U.S embassy and this time they responded by saying that our application was being sent back to USCIS for revocation.