Ale_456

DACA recipient getting married to U.S. Citizen

7 posts in this topic

Filed: Other Country: Nicaragua
Timeline

Hi ! I hope everyone finds themselves well. I am new to this Forum and was wondering if anyone could have any tips or suggestions regarding the adjustment of status process for a DACA recipient. 

Some background: 

I have been DACA since it's inception in 2016.  I have not accumulated any illegal presence in the United states. Clean record, driving record, no criminal record, great school record. Not even a traffic ticket is under my name. I am a graduated college student (21 years of age). My fiance is a college student who is finishing up her Master's degree (22 years of age). She is an America Citizen (born in Tampa). We have been together for 2 years and a half. 

I sort of understand the adjustment of status process, however, my Fiance's family situation is not the greatest. Her mom is sort of controlling of her finances and has been declaring her as a dependent since she was in college (my Fiance does not live with her, get money from her, is not even on her health insurance). We are planning on getting married this month or the next and we are worried that her mom claiming her as a dependent on her taxes for 2021 will look bad when we apply for my adjustment of status. I know USCIS is very attentive and can be suspicious of any tiny little thing. Should my Fiance file as an independent for 2021 and not be claimed as a dependent? Is that the safest route? Or would it not matter at all? 

I would appreciate any tips or suggestions. We are trying to get a lawyer, but the office we were looking into and trust, does not have availability until March 1st for these types of cases. 

Thank you once again. 

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

How did you enter?