TYosemite

Concerns about flying to the US.

15 posts in this topic

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Canada
Timeline

I wasn't sure where to post this topic, this is the closest I could get. 

So a little backstory, I'm a lawful Canadian Permanent Resident residing in Canada and have been since 2009. 

I still hold my UK citizenship and British passport, I never applied for Canadian Citizenship due to my Father being on an offshore rotation for work, so he doesn't have enough days present in Canada during the 5 year period the count for to qualify. My mum, my Dad and I moved as a family and wanting to wait to get it as a family. 

In 2017 I met my now fiancé, he's a US citizen. It took me a while before I started travelling over there, but we both live just outside Niagara Falls (him on the NY side, myself on the ON side). 

So for the past 2 years, we'd take turns spending the weekend at each others houses. Since I'm still a British citizen although I live in Canada, I had to refill out the form for the I-94 every 3 months (not an official visa as the UK is part of the VWP). It was suggested by a kind CBP officer that I just get an ESTA so I didn't need to fill out the forms every 3 months. So I did. 

The ESTA is still valid and will be until December of this year. 

We filed for the K1 last year, we're currently at our NOA2 stage, it had just reached the consulate and we'd gotten our first ready before everything shut down for COVID-19.