Nat&Amy

Brazilians having difficulty finding jobs - share tips

8 posts in this topic

Filed: Citizen (apr) Country: Brazil
Timeline

I have been reading quite a few posts about how hard it is/was for spouses of USC/LPR to find a job in their fields, so I thought I should share my experience in hopes it might help others.

I have a Bachelor's and a Master's Degree from well known universities, both in Brazil and Australia. For many years, I had worked as an educational consultant and as a visa analyst, so in a way, I thought there would be plenty of jobs waiting for me when I finally moved to the US. I have no problems with the English language. So, as I waited for my EAD/GC, I applied for all jobs I could find in schools, universities, agencies. Didn't get a single invitation for an interview. Thought things would get better when my GC finally came in.

They didn't.

The jobs I wanted didn't want me, and everyone that has been in the same situation knows that stings a little.