jeanieCZ

what is my status?

11 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Netherlands
Timeline

I arrived in the US on 26th November 2019 on a K-1 visa. Since then, I got my SSN, a driver's license and have married my US Citizen fiancee. I haven't filed AOS yet but will do that in the coming days. 

I want to open a checking account to transfer my funds from my European bank account. I have inquired with two banks, who asked me questions about my status and each of them came to a different conclusion - according to the first, I am a Resident Alien, according to the other one, I'm a Non-Resident Alien.

So I thought it shouldn't be that difficult and went to irs.gov. I do not pass the Green Card test (don't have one) and I do not pass the Substantian Presence test (I visited the US 3 times in 2019 for the total of 59 days, so according to the definition I should only count a third of this number, which means 19 days), so I should be a Non-Resident Alien. Or am I wrong or missing sth? Please help!

I also encoutered the term "US person", what does that mean? Am I a US person?

I'm quite lost in these terms and conditions.....can somebody please explain?

Edited by jeaniecz

"Life is a journey." At this moment, it's taking me to the USA to the woman I love.

Your conclusion is correct.  if you have an SSN you can open an account. A US Person is usually a US citizen/ green card holder/ visa holder who pass the substantial presence test for the current year.

did you apply the bank account online or in person. most likely you cant open account online due to the requirement of documents. try visiting a bank in person.

Edited by Donald120383

duh

Your immigration status is K-1 until your 90 days expire. Then you have no status. Once you file for AOS, you will have an authorized stay (which is not a status but lets you remain while the I-485 is pending adjudication).