artemisxoxo

EB2 NIW I140 approved but my marriage is taking place soon. What next?

9 posts in this topic

My EB2 NIW I140 is approved recently, but I am getting married soon outside of the US. My to-be spouse resides outside of the US, and since I am currently a graduate student in F1 status, my original plan was  to bring her as F2 dependent. But, the math has changed since this approval. Since my I140 is approved, and my visa date is current, I can potentially file adjustment of status . But, I want my future spouse to be a greencard beneficiary as well. I understand that if she was already in the US, she could also file an AOS and things would be quite straightforward. But since she does not have a US status now, I am trying to explore what options we've got. My question is:

1. Would it be OK to hold off applying for AOS for now, get married first, bring her to US in F2 and wait for more than 90 days and finally both of us apply for AOS?

2. If 1 is not OK, what are some of the best possible options for us?

Personally, I would prefer 1 (as long as it is legal) as I want my wife to join me as soon as possible. Thank you for reading this.

Filed: Country: Vietnam (no flag)
Timeline

1.  No, it would not be OK.  It's visa fraud to use an F-2 non-immigrant visa to enter the US with the intent to adjust status.

2.  You can do a Follow-to-Join and she will interview at a US Embassy/Consulate for an immigration visa.  

50 minutes ago, artemisxoxo said: