srajeevan

Can i earn passive income using my online course while on F1 STEM OPT

12 posts in this topic

Filed: F-2A Visa Country: India
Timeline

Hi,

I am on F1 STEM OPT currently.I am married to an LPR and i have filed for my I-130 and AOS for family based immigraiton.

My I-130 is approved and waiting for the next steps in adjusting status.

I have an online course developed and it is available online as a free course.I work in tech industry and my course is tech related only.

Ideally i can earn some money if i make that course as a paid course.

My question is ,if i make that course as a paid course would that in any way cause any issues for visa status.?

I know that while on F1 ,one should work in the field of study and work 40 hours a week.

But i am not sure about earning passive income.

My biggest concern is if i earn this passive income,would that cause any issues(tax issues) while my adjustment of status for GC is processed.?

Any info on this is appreciated.

5 minutes ago, srajeevan said:

Hi,

I am on F1 STEM OPT currently.I am married to an LPR and i have filed for my I-130 and AOS for family based immigraiton.

My I-130 is approved and waiting for the next steps in adjusting status.

I have an online course developed and it is available online as a free course.I work in tech industry and my course is tech related only.

Ideally i can earn some money if i make that course as a paid course.

My question is ,if i make that course as a paid course would that in any way cause any issues for visa status.?

I know that while on F1 ,one should work in the field of study and work 40 hours a week.

But i am not sure about earning passive income.

My biggest concern is if i earn this passive income,would that cause any issues(tax issues) while my adjustment of status for GC is processed.?

Any info on this is appreciated.