sjhedquist

Evidence of Support

8 posts in this topic

Filed: AOS (pnd) Country: Argentina
Timeline

I just recently learned of the requirement of supporting documents for my fiance's K-1 interview with the embassy. We haven't even gotten notice from the embassy to set up his interview yet, but we want to get things together as quickly as possible. I am most concerned with the I-134 and have the following questions:

1.  It lists tax returns as necessary only if you are self-employed, which I am not. I am hesitant to attach last year's since I was living abroad and made next to nothing in the months that I was actually in the U.S., so it will look like I am below the poverty line for that year. I did make an income while living in Spain, but have nothing to show for it. I read somewhere to attach tax documents from the past 3 years, but I was a college student in 2016 and 2017 and made very little money. Last year, as I said above, was spent abroad and my income is not reflected on my tax return. Will this hurt me?

2. My bank account balance now and throughout the year are not exactly high...I have a solid income now (more than $50,000 before taxes) and have had for the past year, but I am by no means rich and have less than $1000 in my checking at almost all times after I pay my bills. What exactly are they looking for when they look at the ebb and flow of my bank account?

1. Tax returns for the I-134 are not strictly required. COs from some countries want to see them anyway, so I'll defer there. But current income is still king.
  2. Assets are optional if income is sufficient.
  3. For the I-864 (for AOS later), a copy of at east the most recent year's tax return will be required. The 2 years prior to tax will need to be listed as well, or a statement as to why you weren't required to file.