9 posts in this topic

Hello to all my visa journey experts,

I am fairly new to taxes and I don’t have much experience. My spouse and I got married in 2018, he is not from this country neither is he in the country. He also does not yet have a social security number. My question to you all is what would I file as (for tax purposes)?

Also, If I file as married do I need to get a tax identification number? If I file will it have to be by mail? And about how long will it take to process both my taxes and the identification number? I want to make sure I file on time and this is the only thing we are waiting for with our affidavit. 

Edited by OAAA

Filed: Citizen (pnd) Country: Morocco
Timeline

I did mine by mail as it said they needed offical copies of marriage certificate

has the immigrant done the W7 or do u have a POA from him to do it as you would also need to submit a copy of the POA ?

then you file joint or married filing separate (your choice)  I choose to claim my spouse for the extra credit 

It will take longer especially now that we get so close to all the work from the late filers with April 15th coming up fast now

you do have to file as married and i don't think the online systems will allow you to leave the spot (for spouse SS # ) blank

I could be wrong as the online systems have improved since i did the ITIN

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Egypt
Timeline
1 hour ago, OAAA said:

Hello to all my visa journey experts,

I am fairly new to taxes and I don’t have much experience. My spouse and I got married in 2018, he is not from this country neither is he in the country. He also does not yet have a social security number. My question to you all is what would I file as (for tax purposes)?