Ab28

F-1 in Long AP; Options? [split topic]

30 posts in this topic

US visa policy is random. In my case, I have been a graduate student at Ohio State University  for the past 7 years.Out of these 7 years, I was Fulbright Fellow ( J-1 visa holder) for 5 years. Since I couldn’t complete my PhD degree in those 5 years, thanks to health issues, so I was told by my sponsor, Fulbright, to go back to my home country, complete the remaining research from there, and come back to US once my dissertation defense was ready. I was ready for my thesis defense in Autumn 2018, so I applied for US visa ( F-1) in June 2018. It’s been 8 months since I have been waiting for the approval of my US visa. It is still in administrative processing. I never overstayed in US, and was never out of status.

Perhaps it feels random to you, no idea why you are on AP so long & hopefully it gets sorted out soon, but the person nenanena was asking had gone out of status before which explains the denials.

43 minutes ago, SusieQQQ said:

Perhaps it feels random to you, no idea why you are on AP so long & hopefully it gets sorted out soon, but the person nenanena was asking had gone out of status before which explains the denials.

I have described my case in detail here.

Do you see any wrong-doing in my case? I am so depressed that I have once again started taking anti-depressants. I can’t study in any other country too as I have already invested 7 long years into my PhD( Electrical Engineering) studies. It has sapped my energies.

Not an expert but many Pakistanis these days face long AP, and the fact that you’re applying on a private passport doesn’t change your job. I’m assuming you are being subjected to extensive background checks, especially if your degree is TAL related. 

Filed: K-1 Visa Country: Wales
Timeline

Could you defend a dissertation on a B?