KJ2

I-864 versus I-864a

8 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am aware of the definitions listed as to when you can use the I-864a.  In my case, I can definitely use my father who lives with me as a co-sponsor and he can fill out the I-864a.  My question is not whether he can use the I-864a, but rather can we choose not to pool our income and we can both fill out a separate I-864?  I am a student so my income is not sufficient, however he has more than enough income to provide sponsorship on his own.  I don't know if there is a penalty for not using the I-864a if it applies and if we can choose to both file I-864 separately since in a few months I will be moving out and graduating anyway.  Thanks.

Filed: IR-1/CR-1 Visa Country: Jamaica
Timeline

It doesn't make a difference ether way. If you are living in the same house but not really being fully dependent on your father, you can both file i-864. If he claims you on taxes he has to use the i-864a because you're a dependent. Even if you are able to make more money later, the i-864/I-864a still requires him to take financial responsibility for you. 

The only problem I foresee is NVC just deciding based on address that you are part of the same household and issuing an RFE for the i-864a. So In that case it might make sense to just use it since there's really no difference in responsibilities based on which you fill out. 

Cateogory: CR1

• NOA1/Notice of receipt: Sept. 15, 2015
  • NOA2/I130 Approved: February 8, 2016 (NO RFE) :)
  • Process slowed down by us
  • Sent documents to NVC: April 11, 2016
  • Scan date: April 14/ May 7th (NVC said both I dont know why)
  • Case Complete: May 31, 2016 (No checklist) :dancing:

August 17, 2016: Visa Approved!!!! :dancing:

On 1/30/2019 at 12:41 AM, Keas said: